In Minnesota, driving while intoxicated places all drivers on the road at risk. The offense could present hefty fines and sentences if the driver is convicted. DWI lawyers in New Ulm, MN assist the drivers by explaining potential penalties and building a defense.
The First DWI Conviction
The state of Minnesota considers the first driving while intoxicated conviction as a fourth-degree misdemeanor. Drivers who are convicted of the offense can receive a maximum of ninety days in the county jail. A $1,000 fine is incurred with the conviction. However, the charge is applied if the driver has no prior convictions for DWI or any refusal to submit to testing.
The Second DWI Conviction
The second driving while intoxicated conviction is a third-degree gross misdemeanor. If convicted, the driver receives a maximum of one year in the county jail. The fine imposed is $3,000.
The Third DWI Conviction
The third conviction is also classified as a gross misdemeanor. A third conviction is applied if the defendant has at least two DWI convictions within the ten-year look back period. The defendant could receive a maximum of one year in the county jail and a $3,000 fine for this conviction, too.
The Fourth DWI Conviction
If the defendant receives a fourth DWI conviction in a ten-year period, the state recognizes the conviction as a felony. The conviction leads to a seven-year prison sentence with a fine of $14,000.
Stipulations for a Limited License
The state of Minnesota will provide a limited license for some individuals convicted of a DWI. The stipulations for the limited license require the defendant to install an ignition interlocking device into their vehicle at their own expense. The device evaluates the driver’s blood-alcohol content reading and prevents the car from starting if they have a reading of at least 0.02%.
In Minnesota, driving while intoxicated could lead to jail sentences, permanent revocation of the driver’s license, and large fines. The total number of previous convictions determines if the charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. An attorney can provide assistance by building a defense to fight the conviction. Those who need the help of DWI lawyers in New Ulm, MN can visit Blatzlawminnesota.com today.
Connect with us with on Google+!